Praises to the Lord

I personally have my most difficult time emotionally after going to someone’s house.  Somehow it reminds me that our life is not “normal” anymore and I have to work through that fact.  Monday on the way home from a niece’s grad party I was praying through this and asking the Lord to remember us in this time.  As the tears fell, all of the sudden I saw a rainbow, then another and a few minutes later another!  I surely felt He was reminding me that He had not forgotten me or our family.

Then last night after reading the boys a Bible story out of the Jesus Loves Me storybook Bible by Sally Lloyd Jones, Samson asked me “who decides if we get to be with God?  God or us?  And I said, well, you do.  Each person decides if they want to follow Jesus.  He said, “I want to go with God!”  and Jimmy and Ricardo both quickly replied, “me too, I want to be with God!”  “How do we be with God?” So, I asked them what they thought and some thought to “obey”, and we talked about how no one could obey all the time perfectly.  So, then I called Ron in to help and we used a wooden cross that our neighbors, Joe and Laura Kinney had made for us, to show them how Christ has bridged the gap between our sin and God.  We explained to them that this is a decision they each have to make for themselves.  Samson, Jimmy and Ricardo each prayed out loud in their own precious words to follow Jesus and to ask forgiveness for their sins.  It was so precious.  We can tell from reading them Bible stories that they have heard them before.  We are pretty sure a nanny at the orphanage read to them from the Creole Jesus Loves me Storybook Bible.  It is is evident that they have heard and have a good basis.  We know from what Robenson has shared that he comes from a Christian family.

We want to thank you each for your prayers in the years and months of waiting for praying for their salvation.

Today, there are three more names written down in glory! And May His name be praised!

And so in the midst of the hard, their is unspeakable eternal perspective on joy in following His path.

“There is a great sense of rest in being in the way of His steps.” I.Lillias Trotter

Blessings,

Michelle

 

 

11 thoughts on “Praises to the Lord

  1. Karen says:

    May God continue to richly bless you and your family. You are doing amazing work with these children. Praise the Lord for their salvation and the role model you both provide for them! I am so proud to know you and to be able to pray for all of you! Karen Richard

  2. Stephanie Carlton says:

    What awesome news … I am rejoicing along with you! Such a huge praise!!

    On Wed, May 31, 2017 at 9:03 PM The Schaffner Family Blog wrote:

    > michelledee88 posted: “I personally have my most difficult time > emotionally after going to someone’s house. Somehow it reminds me that our > life is not “normal” anymore and I have to work through that fact. Monday > on the way home from a niece’s grad party I was praying through” >

  3. Michele Hiatt says:

    Hi Michelle –

    What a praise for your family! “I want to go with God” – makes all the turmoil and changes to our temporary home seem so small. Jeff had a really good sermon illustration a few weeks ago where he strung a rope all around the sanctuary and then out the side door. The rope was white except for the last few inches taped red indicating our earthly lives. He said imagine this rope going around the room, out the door, went to florida, got on the space shuttle and blasted outside the universe…eternity with God compared to a few years on earth. I keep going back to this illustration in my mind as our family struggles through more changes and heartache that I can not understand and can not prevent. And since it is all Gods plan it must be working for good even if I can not see it.

    Even though we don’t get to talk – know that your family has remained and will remain on my prayer list. What we are doing is not easy and we need to lean further into the One who holds us all.

    Love you Michele

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Don Fry says:

    You and Ron are living examples of finding teachable moments to spread your wisdom. What an inspiring story!

  5. Cindy Hawthorne says:

    Praising God with you! That is wonderful news!

    We are also praising God for you all laying down the “easy way” to follow Christ, choosing to follow Him on what has been a difficult path. People won’t understand the why’s, and sometimes we ourselves don’t understand the why’s, and that makes it hard. If we could catch a glimpse of the eternal results, we wouldn’t second guess our hard choices. Thanking God for this glimpse of eternity, with your precious sons being a part of it.

    Thank you Lord, for the Schaffners! Let your blessings fall on each of them in every way. Thank you that you are with them, and are at work in mighty ways. Pour out your Spirit fresh on each of them, so they will be refreshed and strengthened for this ministry of love you have called them to. Provide all they need in every way, spiritually, financially, physically, emotionally, relationally. Put it on other’s hearts to reach out and support them when and how they need it.

    Help us all to follow their lead, and respond to the call as they have, to reach out to this world in need with your love, holding nothing back.

    Then Jesus went to work on his disciples. “Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead. You’re not in the driver’s seat; I am. Don’t run from suffering; embrace it. Follow me and I’ll show you how. Self-help is no help at all. Self-sacrifice is the way, my way, to finding yourself, your true self. What kind of deal is it to get everything you want but lose yourself? What could you ever trade your soul for? Matt 16:25 MSG

Leave a Reply

