New Days

15800430_386238758377382_6411225660614031287_odd15800568_10211539904471186_7944922716365661328_o

It is funny how many things are different than I thought they would be once the boys came home.  For one, I thought I would have no time to blog.  I realize though, that I need to blog.  Somehow it helps me to process things in a way different than just journaling. Perhaps because I think the things the Lord shows me may help someone else.  I pray that is so.

The biggest thing that has happened for me personally since ours sons have come home is a great awareness of my capacity to sin.  I am unable to love four people I don’t really know very well in my own strength. I am completely dependent on the Lord to help me to do that.  There is a great sense of my brokenness and an awareness of my limits.  Today’s devotion in Jesus Calling described it very well:

People usually associate victory with success: not falling or stumbling, not making mistakes. But those who are successful in their own strength tend to go their own way, forgetting about Me.  It is through problems and failure, weakness and neediness that you learn to rely on Me.

And one of the verses with it: “For we walk by faith, not by sight.” 2 Corinthians 5:7

The first two weeks have been hard in that we have all taken turns with sickness.  The boys have seem to miss it, except for Ricardo having a fever for a few days.  Thank you all for your prayers re; that.  It is hard to bring them home to cold and sickness!  The fact that Ron was off from school was a great blessing for me to get recovered from traveling and sickness as well as get the routines started off on a good note.

Our sons are tight.  They have been through a lot together and will always be close. The blessing in them staying together is that some of their security is on one another and I think that has made the transition smoother and comforting for them.  They still have one another to talk to in Creole when their brain is tired of hearing English!  We are encouraging them to continue to talk to one another in Creole in hopes of them all keeping their native language.  They have adjusted to eating very well, seeming to like whatever we have and being normal kids in not really wanting veggies!  They are good sleepers once asleep and can play for hours on end.  They mix dollhouse people, Legos, action figures, Fischer price people and animals all together!  The one thing they asked for when they were in Haiti and sent us a letter were remote control cars, which they love!  They also love dart guns, legos, and are able to sit through entire movies with no problem. They absolutely LOVE riding their bikes in freedom at Tate Park on the new trails! They have had several soccer games in our backyard, some with Ron and I too!  They really don’t seem to mind the cold and like the snow.  They loved sledding!  We look forward to having a few outings soon! They have skyped with two different families who have adopted from their same orphanage, which has been nice.  Jimmy and Ricardo like to repeat what you say.  When Ron prays for meals, Ricardo tries to copy everything!  We are trying to do some basic English lessons before they go to school.  They have amazing cursive!

We continue to thank you for your prayers and support.  The meals being brought sure are spoiling me!  They have all been so delicious.  I honestly don’t know how I am going to get thankyous done for all the amazing things others have done for us!

I learn something each day from them, not unlike our bio children.  It is amazing to me how quickly they share with Ella or Ally.  It is so sweet how they hide toys under their mattress and pillow like they did at the orphanage, to make sure they are “safe.”  I have been pleasantly surprised on how they seem to know when they are full from a meal.  They sure are happy they are done with their yucky medicine.

God is faithful.

Love,

Michelle and family

 

3 thoughts on “New Days

  1. Please keep blogging, I relish every word you write as one day I hope to have my own child adopted from Haiti and learning from those who have experience is amazing for me! Thank you and God bless

  2. Rana says:

    Wow! Your words are so true! Thank you for sharing this insight! What a message of hope- that we can only do things in Christ’s strength! Sounds like you are taking things a day at a time and dealing with them as they come. We’ll continue to pray for health, energyand patience for you everyday! Love you guys!!! Rana

Leave a Reply

