9 x 4 = 36

photo-of-schaffner-kids-date-unknown

I am not the math teacher, Ron is.  But something hit me recently.  When we hit mid to late November of 2016, it will have been 36 months since we said yes in our hearts to four brothers in Haiti.  It seems like a long time of waiting, I know.  But my mind quickly goes to the math of a baby in the womb, 9 months.  Now, you see where I am going?  4 boys times 9 months each equals 36 months.  This means if they don’t come home until the end of December, I am OVERDUE!  I think it would be even more amazing if we were going to get them at the end of November, almost exactly 36 months!

They have indeed grown in our heart during this time.  The waiting, the praying, the hoping….it all does something deep in your soul.  The process has not been an easy one.  I will tell you, there is a war that is waged with the enemy when adopting.  There are times that so many hard and strange things happen in my life, I can feel the enemy attacking, especially at night.  My only choice is to cry out to the Lord, and ask for help in Jesus name.  The enemy cannot stand the Savior’s plan of redemption.  He cannot stand us standing with the broken, the poor, the outcast, and those that are left out.  He would rather we gather together and learn some more memory verses as long as we don’t do anything that resembles what Jesus would have done.  So, Satan fights with all He has.  He fights against the call of adoption.  He does whatever it takes to discourage us.  Someone I love a lot, recently asked me if I had to do it over again, knowing all this would entail, would I do it again?  My answer was a resounding, undoubtable YES!  They are counting on us.  We love you Robenson, Samson, Jimmy and Ricardo!

I love these two quotes by Henri Nowen:

Compassion asks us to go where it hurts, to enter into the places of pain, to share in brokenness, fear, confusion, and anguish. Compassion challenges us to cry out with those in misery, to mourn with those who are lonely, to weep with those in tears. Compassion requires us to be weak with the weak, vulnerable with the vulnerable, and powerless with the powerless. Compassion means full immersion in the condition of being human.

When we honestly ask ourselves which person in our lives mean the most to us, we often find that it is those who, instead of giving advice, solutions, or cures, have chosen rather to share our pain and touch our wounds with a warm and tender hand. The friend who can be silent with us in a moment of despair or confusion, who can stay with us in an hour of grief and bereavement, who can tolerate not knowing, not curing, not healing and face with us the reality of our powerlessness, that is a friend who cares.

Oh, Lord that I could be  a person defined by the above quotes.  It is the type of person I love to be around:  Someone that I don’t have to pretend around, someone that loves me as I am.

Specific Prayer requests:

*For our bio children to be healthy when we go to Haiti, especially Ella! (she has had something off and on since the second week of school!)

*For our sons in Haiti as their good friends are leaving the orphanage this week, thankfully they do know they have passports and it was reported they were happy about that!

*For financial details to fall into place

*For timing of the final trip

*For God to be Glorified!

Blessings and thank you for all your prayers!

Michelle and family

 

4 thoughts on “9 x 4 = 36

  1. Rana says:

    Can’t stop thinking about you guys, Michelle!! Praying that you get notice SOON that you can bring your sons home!!!!! Sending you all of our love! Rana

Leave a Reply

