Getting Closer!

 

IMG_4151

Jimmy!

IMG_4146

PaPa and Samson

IMG_4143

One bike all kids at the orphanage share

IMG_4093 - Copy - Copy

Jimmy and mama

IMG_4078

Soccer with a pop bottle with Ricardo

IMG_4158 - Copy

Look out! Ricardo!

IMG_4091

Brothers!

IMG_4050

Josh and Robenson when we got to take all the kids to the big soccer field outside the orphanage. This was by far their favorite day! We also had peanuts and water! Water is a treat to them!

It is amazing to me when God confirms things in your life from so many places.  Scripture, a sermon,  a song and a book you are reading.  I love how God does this.  I love how He knows my struggling self and my tendency to doubt and yet He isn’t surprised and comes through as I cry out to Him for help and for perspective.  

We have the great blessing of a family cabin that we get to use in the U.P.  Our recent trip there has been a much needed time of peace after returning from Haiti.  It is hard to see what you see when you visit an orphanage.  I just want to take each child home and care for them.  And wow, to think we get to bring home four at once!  What a privilege!  

The song that has spoke to me so much as of late is by a group Abi shared with me called “i am they” .  The song is entitled “Resting Place.”  Here are the lyrics:

My faith has found a resting place
Not in my work or deed
I trust the ever living One

His wounds for me shall plead

I need no other argument
I need no other plea
It is enough that Jesus died
And that He died for me

Enough for me that Jesus saves
This ends my fear and doubt
A sinful soul I come to Him
He’ll never cast me out

The wondrous cross
Your precious blood
Your sacrifice
It is enough
Your heart has led me up that hill
To the cross you are leading still

What is the cross?  What is it to you and to me?  If you love me you obey my commands.  Are HIs commands just rules to follow?  If you don’t do this and don’t do that you are good?  I mean is all we are trying to do to not to bad things?  What is this cross He is asking of you and me?  To take up our cross daily? It must be more than just not doing bad things.   Here is a link to the song:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HlOPhTWyYI

To visit the orphanage and feel the pain of these children.  To feel their lack of a family, of daily love and care.  They get fed, eventually get changed out of their cloth shirt diaper that covered my shirt with pee, they get a bath of sorts some days, they get picked up once in awhile, but not to a mother of seven’s satisfaction.  I know what those babies need to thrive. They need a home.  I wish it could be their home in Haiti.  I wish their mommy and daddy could love and raise them.  I wish another family member or friend could afford to take them in and love them. Approximately Seventy percent of the people of Haiti live in poverty, averaging a little over a dollar a day.  No wonder the boy Ron gave $1 to for washing our windows had such a big smile!   These children have experienced so much trauma in their such young lives.  I struggle to understand it all and must go to Him to find peace..

So it is through us going to the cross  after Jesus’ example…it is here He allows us to be part of His grand plan, “Thy Kingdom Come, They will be done on earth as it is in heaven.”  We cannot leave the poor, the hungry, the naked, the imprisoned, the broken, the hurting where they are.  

Psalm 62:5b “ my hope comes from Him,” was the scripture the Lord encouraged me with.

The Max Lucado book Outlive your life I picked up at the Library book sale was the book that God used to affirm His call on our lives right now.  There was only one  moment in all the Gospels where Jesus selected and read scripture. Max Lucado says: “ It is the singular occasion we know of, and which verse did he choose?  He shuffled the scroll toward the end of the text and read, “The Spirit of the Lord is upon Me, because He has anointed Me to preach the gospel to the poor; He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted”  Luke 4:18, quoting Isaiah 61:1.  Jesus lifted his eyes from the parchment and quoted the rest of the words  : To proclaim liberty to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed; to proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord “  Luke 4:18-19  Jesus had a target audience  The poor. The broken hearted. Captives. The blind and oppressed. “  

Whenever you did one of these things to someone overlooked or ignored, that was me…you did it to me.  Matthew 25:40 MSG

And lastly was the sermon we heard from the July 24 by one of our pastors, Bob Lynn, http://knoxannarbor.org/saints-not-heroes/

This sermon talked about the great risk that we take that yields great love.  No risk no love, great risk, great love. If you get a chance, give it a listen.

And we needed the visit with the boys, the time in quiet and peace, and all these affirmations of HIs call since upon our return we have a whole bunch of training to get done and found out we need to separate the older boys from the younger ones and need all the boys to have their own beds.  This means we will need to make our basement into a bedroom for Josh and Robenson.  We also found out we need a new roof. We are on the lookout for a loft bed, and a couple more dressers, since we didn’t think we had space for them, but now we do. (shoot, shouldn’t have put those out for free!)

But, in all these minor things, we know He who has called us to this task will equip us.  We are preparing to be all ready with all these things before school starts.  So, some more moving around of furniture and some more things to be done to get organized.  Passports for the boys are supposed to be ready soon.

The biggest prayer request we have is for no RFE’s while in the last stage of this process.  Lastly please pray that God would continue to work in each of our hearts here and their hearts there to prepare us all for the transition.  

Be tuned next time for some information on how we must handle the first 6 weeks when our sons come home! Can’t believe I get to even say that!  

Love and Prayers,

Michelle and gang.

3 thoughts on “Getting Closer!

  1. Anonymous says:

    “Water is a treat to them”.

    This sentence really struck me. What a privilege indeed to bring these boys home and offer them different circumstances. So many simple things, like water, we take for granted as a right. How eye opening.

Leave a Reply

