Getting Ready

One year ago today we received our referral.  In the Adopting from Haiti world this is a landmark day.  There are families waiting 24  months or more for their referral.  We waited about 18 months.

Next week our daughter Kaiti gets to go on a mission trip with her youth group to Haiti.  I am so thankful for this opportunity for her to get to see the country of her brothers ‘birth and appreciate its beauty entwined with brokenness.  She will get to be working in at an orphanage there.

This past weekend we began “Operation Bring the BOYS home.”  For two years we have been collecting and storing things like dressers, bunk beds, bedding, and clothing in our garage and old basement.  We finally got to start putting those things up.  We switched bedrooms and got the “boys’ room” which includes Joshua all set up.  Boy, it is surreal to be able to imagine them sleeping in the beds and playing and jumping in them!  It was also nice to be able to clear so much space in our old basement as well.

Second, one of Ron’s former students, Chris Sinden, donated his time to build a new storage closet for us in preparation for needing more space for supplies of all sorts. Thank  you Chris!  Lastly, we got a good deal on a fridge from Craig’s list that is bigger than our old one and in better shape.  Then, our old one could go in the garage for overflow.  We are guessing our grocery consumption will go up!

I will begin to go through clothing tubs we have been storing and start purchasing some organizational things to help prepare for their arrival.  Our goal is to have everything in our home done and ready by the end of summer since it is very hard to get projects done once school and sports begin again.

Ron, Michelle and Joshua leave on July 11 for Haiti and return on July 15, to visit our sons and Josh’s brothers.

Please be praying for the following:

  1. Safe travel, good health, and for her opportunity to serve in Jesus name for Kaiti to Haiti, June 23-July 1.
  2. Safe travel, good health, and for a special visit for us and Josh with our sons in Haiti: July 11-15
  3. Please pray for my mom, and all the children at home while we are away, especially Ella.
  4. We have been told we are in the last stage MOI, pray for us to go quickly through this last step
  5. Pray we have no RFE’s: Requests for Evidence
  6. God to be glorified.

We cannot tell how much your prayers and encouragement  mean to us on this journey.  Other adoptive families say the last part of the wait is one of the hardest.

Lastly, it seems I always have something I want to share about what the Lord is doing in my heart lately.  While it is hard to sometimes put these things into words, I feel compelled to try.  For me, it has been accepting and understanding the Father’s limitless, unconditional, and abounding love for me.  Regardless of my struggles, weaknesses, jealousies, fears, worries, and sins,  He loves me.  It seems as though all around me in the “Christian society” there are the words that say Jesus loves me, but sometimes there seems there is an unspoken requirement apart from His grace.  Have I memorized, studied, served, given, etc… etc…but, to feel His love that is apart from anything that I do or can ever do. I cannot earn His love.  I need only open my spirit to it and He has already and always been loving me.  Every day before Ella naps I say, “I always love you.”  I really mean this when I tell my children this.  I don’t mean if maybe you cleaned your room, or got all A’s, or were really good today.  I mean I ALWAYS love you.  He ALWAYS loves me.  He ALWAYS loves you.

Finished reading The Ragamuffin Gospel recently, by Brennan Manning.  He writes,

“Over 100 years ago in the Deep South, a phrase so common in our Christian culture today, born again, was seldom or never used.  Rather, the phrase used to describe the breakthrough into a personal relationship with Jesus Christ was “I was seized by the power of a great affection”  These words described both the initiative of God and the explosion within the heart when Jesus, instead of being a face on a holy card with long hair and robe with many folds, became real, alive and Lord of one’s personal and professional life.  Seized by the power of a great affection was a visceral description of the phenomenon Pentecost, authentic conversion, and the release of the Holy spirit.  The phrase lent new meaning to the Old Russian proverb, “Those who have the disease called Jesus will never be cured. ”  

May you this day be seized by the power of His great affection!

Blessings and Much Love,

Michelle and  Family

One thought on “Getting Ready

  1. Ruby Mae Ostrander says:

    Appreciate your updates and continue to pray that things go smoothly! These boys are so blessed to have you and Ron.

Leave a Reply

