Goal Reached!

IMG_0588I haven’t realized how I have not been able to watch a lot of the videos of our sons from Haiti, it has just been too painful.  The wait has been long and hard.  It has been two years and 4 months since we first said yes to the Lord to adopt these precious boys.  Now, I can share with you a sweet time we had with them when we had on our bonding trip last summer.  We will be visiting them in July and are so thankful to the Lord for opening this door.  I can hardly believe that by the time we go to see them it will have been nearly a year since seeing them.  I feel as though we live in two worlds and one day they will come together.

I have been thinking about the fact that they are legally our sons but in many ways we are unable to treat them as such, and they are unable to feel that in daily tangible and concrete ways.  As I was thinking of this, the analogy of my personal walk with the Lord comes up.  How many ways am I child of God but not truly enabling that to change my thinking, my perspectives, my priorities, my daily life?  How often do I act as though I have no Father in Heaven who spoke the world into existence?  How often do I doubt His loving ways?  I act as though I am His in name only, not truly in how I trust in His love for me.  The love that walked the hill to Calvary, to pay my debt, to take my shame, to lift the veil, to hear my cries.

Each person worships the Lord differently.  While I love to hear and sing certain worship songs and love the alone time I have with Him, for me the way I most feel His presence is to be doing things that I feel like Jesus would be doing if He were here on earth.  What does that look like?  I don’t even know if I am sure…except that my soul cries out for the justice he offers, for his care for the broken and the unwanted, the unloved.  So to love those feels like I am so close to Him.

The Lord has already provided through so many generous hearts in less than a week the funds we need to go visit our sons.  I don’t know if any of you know how much this means to us and to them and for Joshua.  The wait has been especially hard for Joshua who has been waiting for “his brothers.”  For our sons in Haiti, who have already experienced loss and hurt, our prayer now is that this little visit will enable them to hang on until they are home.  Please pray for bonds to be formed and sweet memories made to hold until we can hug them and love them every day in person.  Until then, we have this sweet assurance from God’s word of His love and provision for them:

Psalm 10:17-18

You, Lord, hear the desire of the afflicted;
    you encourage them, and you listen to their cry,
18 defending the fatherless and the oppressed,
    so that mere earthly mortals
    will never again strike terror.

And this passage of scripture so speaks to my soul about how God sees things vs. sometimes how we in modern America do:

Isaiah 58:5-11

Is this the kind of fast I have chosen,
    only a day for people to humble themselves?
Is it only for bowing one’s head like a reed
    and for lying in sackcloth and ashes?
Is that what you call a fast,
    a day acceptable to the Lord?

“Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen:
to loose the chains of injustice
    and untie the cords of the yoke,
to set the oppressed free
    and break every yoke?
Is it not to share your food with the hungry
    and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter—
when you see the naked, to clothe them,
    and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?
Then your light will break forth like the dawn,
    and your healing will quickly appear;
then your righteousness[a] will go before you,
    and the glory of the Lord will be your rear guard.
Then you will call, and the Lord will answer;
    you will cry for help, and he will say: Here am I.

“If you do away with the yoke of oppression,
    with the pointing finger and malicious talk,
10 and if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry
    and satisfy the needs of the oppressed,
then your light will rise in the darkness,
    and your night will become like the noonday.
11 The Lord will guide you always;
    he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land
    and will strengthen your frame.
You will be like a well-watered garden,
    like a spring whose waters never fail.

Many Blessings to You and I will be sending out a new blog post soon with specific prayer requests.  Thank you to each of you for your generosity, may the Lord richly reward you with peace and joy in Him.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

