Thoughts for Today

Psalm 68:6a “God sets the lonely in families.”

This verse has encouraged me so much as of late.  When I think of the verb, to “set” it is powerful to me.  I don’t have many things in my home that need “setting”.  Our home is pretty kid friendly and not much that needs “setting” anywhere!  But, that word to me seems like a purposeful, intentional, decisive placing.  God is purposefully, intentionally, decisively, setting these four precious boys in our home to be our sons.  And so this is also something that is done in His time and in His way.  I feel I have come to a new peace of His sovereignty and rule.  He is Lord, He can and will decide when each document is signed and when our referral is issued.  He is working to make all broken things in this whole world new, to restore and to redeem.

Colossians 2:6-7 “So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in Him, rooted and built up in Him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.”

Colossians 2:2 “Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful”

These two passages also caught my attention this past week, as I realized how much I have to be thankful for.  I have come to a place of thankfulness and just taking one day at a time. He has commanded us not to worry about tomorrow.  I am choosing thankfulness and taking one day at a time. I love the thought of “overflowing” with thankfulness!

I lastly want to share something that has profoundly affected my perspective.  And much of this I must say in gratitude to my brothers in sisters in Christ.  You friends have prayed for our sons, and continue to do so. People we do not even know have and are praying for them.  The following quote is from a fellow adoptive mom,  Kristen Wong, who sent me her book entitled “Carried Safely Home”.

“I reflected on our wait for Benjamin. All the prayers we made for him had their source in one root desire: that God would love Benjamin and care for him. Our cries for God to send Benjamin to us were really cries for God to take care of him, to be a good father to him.  We thought the best way for God to love him was to bring him to his waiting family. We can see now that God has answered these prayers, and even in part by not sending him home right away. Because Benjamin was in an orphanage in Vietnam for so long, and because we had no way to bring him home, we kept praying intently for him. Others were also drawn to this little boy and prayed for his body and soul. I do not remember praying so fervently for my girls when they were that age; they were with us, and we felt more secure about their health and safety.  Our desperation for Benjamin drew out many prayers that will bear fruit throughout his life. God was setting his fatherly love on Benjamin that whole time by calling people to pray for him.  “ p.94

So I see that I cannot see as He sees.  I selfishly want them home.  I cry for them to be home. Yet, He knows what is best. These prayers that are being offered up on behalf of our sons are doing a work that is eternal in their souls. Thank you so much for your prayers on their behalf.

“O Lord, I call to you; come quickly to me.  Hear my voice when I call to you. May my prayer be set before you like incense; may the lifting up of my hands be like the evening sacrifice.” Psalm 141:1-2

This day I say thank you Lord.  Thank you for life and salvation.  Thank you that You are God and not me.  Thank you for an amazing, Godly husband.  Thank you for Luke, Abi, Kaiti, Josh, Anna, Ally and Ella.  Thank you for our four sons in Haiti.  Thank you for our glory babies, Joseph, Silas, Mercy and Paul who have taught me so much more about you than I would ever know.  You are so good.  I love you Lord.

Blessings in Christ,

Michelle

2 thoughts on “Thoughts for Today

  1. Dennis & Cyndie Milligan says:

    Michelle,

    Every time I walk by your home I pray for your family and your boys. I include you all in my prayers.
    God is good all the time and he is embracing your sons.
    Much love,
    Cyndie Milligan

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

