Our Strong Tower

In these days I have grown faint.  I have found it hard to find hope of ever bringing the boys home.  If you would have told me one year ago that in one year we still would have not went on our first visit, I probably could not have managed the year.  I guess that is why we are admonished in God’s word not to worry about tomorrow. Currently Haiti is in need of prayer.  There are a lot of political things going on. Bus drivers are striking the price of gas, making it impossible for many to get to work, including AWAA workers and IEBSR employees.  This on top of our other issues of waiting, make the days seem like forever.  I honestly at times feel like it will never happen.  My only stability in these times is the Word of God and His spirit to sustain me.  I look at their pictures and pray for the Lord to help me.  I read today in Romans about Abraham:

Romans 4:18

18 Against all hope, Abraham in hope believed and so became the father of many nations, just as it had been said to him, “So shall your offspring be.”[a]

Against all hope, he in HOPE believed.  And so it feels as though I am without hope, without any outward sign of progress, of any moving forward.

And then the Psalms again speak to my soul and become my prayer:

Psalm 61:1-3

Hear my cry, O God;
listen to my prayer.

From the ends of the earth I call to you,
 I call as my heart grows faint;
    lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
For you have been my refuge,
    a strong tower against the foe.

I did not know I would need to grow strong in my faith in the waiting.  But, this is our only option.

The most recent picture I have of our sons, one of them is in shoes way too big, and a shirt way too small, and his face looked so sad.  I wrote this poem to them after seeing that picture.

I see your face in the picture and I see the shoes that are way too big.

I see your sadness in this one and know, you need a hug today.

I cannot give you one myself for you are a thousand miles away.

So I prayed and asked the Lord to give you one for me,

And asked Him to make sure you are okay….

Until I can hug you,

Until I can dry your tear,

He will hold you by His Spirit,

Please little sons do not fear.

Continued coveting of your prayers for God to move mountains and bring our sons home.

Blessings,

Michelle

One thought on “Our Strong Tower

  1. Heather Mickiewicz says:

    Hi Michelle,
    This is Heather Mickiewicz. I wrote you several months back. I would love to connect with you. We are adopting from Haiti through America World, we aren’t on the facebook group or anything so I’m limited to email/calls to connect with other families. Feel free to email me. Many of your feelings resonate with me as well. Praying for progress and knowing that God is working even when we can’t see it. He can move the mountains. Blessings to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

