Waiting on Him

It was last November that we were anxiously awaiting to hear if the orphanage would accept us to be the parents of these four precious boys.  Little did we know how long this process would take?  I feel very humbled in how very impatient I have been, thus evidencing my lack of faith and trust in the Lord and His timing.  I have realized, at least for me, this process has been a refining one.    A fellow friend adopting from Haiti shared a link to a sermon I listened to entitled “When you are waiting.” He often said “while you are waiting, God is working.” I entrust our sons to His care and know He is doing more than we can imagine bringing them home in His time.  I know He is working in me for sure.   He is teaching me the very basic idea of taking one day at a time and not worrying about tomorrow.  He has commanded us not to worry.   I love this quote I stumbled upon by Elisabeth Elliott:

“Does it make sense to pray for guidance about the future if we are not obeying in the thing that lies before us today? How many momentous events in Scripture depended on one person’s seemingly small act of obedience! Rest assured: Do what God tells you to do now, and, depend upon it, you will be shown what to do next.” 
― Elisabeth Elliot
Quest for Love: True Stories of Passion and Purity

Since Abi turned 18 and our home study will expire at the first of January, we have to have a home study update and get Abi fingerprinted.  We do have a praise in that the Haitian judge is back.  This is an answer to prayer.  We continue to ask the Lord for a referral, but in some ways feel like we are removing any expected time frames from our hearts and minds so as not to feel constantly discouraged.  He is in control.  I honestly can say it is frustrating, but should obedience to God be easy?  I am sure once they are home there will be new frustrations and new hard things.  He has called us to deny ourselves, take up our cross daily and follow Him.

“To be a follower of the Crucified means, sooner or later, a personal encounter with the cross. And the cross always entails loss.” 
― Elisabeth ElliotThese Strange Ashes

I personally prefer to have it be Him who dictates my losses and my crosses, not I.

Coveting prayers for ours sons to be home.  Rest assured,you will surely know when we have received a referral!  We will be shouting it from the mountain tops!

Love you,

Michelle

4 thoughts on “Waiting on Him

  1. I am so excited to hear you yell from the mountain tops! I think it’s even more exciting that God will be doing it first to tell you, “the time is now, they’re coming home to you Michelle!”

  2. Don Fry says:

    Count me in on shouting from the mountaintops! Your patience is amazing. We know God is with us because things are hard. It increases our thirst for him.

Leave a Reply

