Hope Deferred

Hope deferred makes the heart sick, states Proverbs 13:12.  Well, we continue to wait.  Recently several key officials in Haiti are out of the country, therefore there will be no referrals this week or next.

So, how are we?  What is going on?  Honestly, the above passage describes me tonight.  Some days I am doing really well, trusting the Lord, knowing He is in control.  Encouraged this weekend by a myriad of candid photos of our sons at their orphanage running through the sprinkler, going to the beach, a whole  group of them taking turns to try a bike, eating, wrestling, coloring….it helped to at least know they are together, fed and safe.  And yet, honestly, while I know the days will be impossibly hard when they come…..I long for them to be home.  I hurt for them to have the love of a mom and dad and a family.  Sometimes it would be easier if we didn’t know who we were adopting, I think I could handle the wait better then.  Maybe not. I know I would not have wanted to know before Ally Grace’s arrival on this earth and Ella Joy’s arrival here the wait it took, nor the loss of two precious babies before each one. What are they thinking right now?  One huge praise I can’t remember if I shared here or not is that they do know that they are being adopted!  🙂

As I ponder the trial of waiting, I am encouraged only by the Spirit of God deep within.  Nothing but His very presence helps me right now.  His steadfast love and assurance of His power, His sovereignty.  Even now as I write I know it is a choppy writing with a lack of flow, but it is just what is real right now.

Elizabeth Elliot stated so well in her book, Keep a Quiet Heart,

A Spirit of Resistance cannot wait on God.  I believe it is this spirit which is the reason for some of our greatest sufferings.  Opposing the workings of the Lord in and through our “problems” only exacerbates them.  It is here and now that we must win our victories or suffer defeats.  Spiritual victories are won in the quiet acceptance of ordinary events, which are God’s “bright Servants,” standing all around us.  Restlessness and impatience change nothing except our peace and joy.  Peace does not dwell in outward things, but in the heart prepared to wait trustfully and quietly on Him who has all things safely in His hands.

“Peace I leave with you; I do not give to you as the world gives.” John 14:27 NEB

To continue to pray, to hope, to trust….

We have been told that during our two week bonding visit we will be with the boys but will be joined by many other children from the orphanage who will be “waiting” for us.  I am guessing it will be a little like the DR when we worked at the VBS.  We will be staying at the guest house at the orphanage, not at America World’s guest house due to the distance of the orphanage.

Last November is when we first received the notice of these boys needing adopted…..our hope to have them home by Christmas this year is obviously out of the question now, but we still pray they can be home soon, now I just say in the Lord’s time.

The last part of the above Proverb 12:13 from above is:  “but when the desire comes it is a tree of life.”  Looking forward to that part.  Thanks for your continued prayers and encouragement to us.

May He be lifted up, for only He is worthy to receive praise and honor and glory, Amen.

Blessings,

Michelle

 

 

10 thoughts on “Hope Deferred

  1. I can feel the tugging in your gut to have these boys home with you through this post. I can only imagine how many times you have looked at the new pictures of your boys….I would too.

    “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” Galatians 6:9

    It’s hard sometimes to grasp the concept of going through trials as a blessing. But, His promises are true. Love you dearly.

  2. Without suffering, without waiting, without longing we can not truly feel the joy, the gratification or the satiation that is due. For each ounce of suffering, if we could measure it, there will be equal, if not more joy. Focus on the coming joy and, I know you are, be ever faithful that God will fulfill with abundance. These boys are also waiting and longing, so you know you are not alone in this.

  3. Don Fry says:

    Michelle,
    Michelle,
    Your longing for the boys and the difficulty of waiting touches my heart. Your patience is inspirational and will be rewarded. God’s timetable is not designed to meet earthly needs. I continue to pray that news will come soon.

  4. Heather Mickiewicz says:

    Hi Michelle, I stumbled upon your blog when searching for other families adopting from Haiti. We too are adopting with America World and I think we have very similar stories. 🙂 Your words resonated with my heart as well. The Lord has encouraged me with Hebrews 6:19 lately. He is our anchor that is always firm and secure no matter the circumstances. The waves sure have tossed us all about, but the anchor holds. Feel free to email me, we are not on the Facebook group or anything. Praying for all the families and precious children waiting for a family. Blessings to you all!

    Sincerely,
    Heather Mickiewicz

Leave a Reply

