Ella Joy and Adoption update

Ella Joy made an early arrival on Tuesday, July 9th 2013.  She weighed in at 6lbs. and 1 oz., and was 19 inches long.  My water broke at 12:30 pm. on Sunday night.  I hadn’t progressed much, so a lot of waiting ensued.  They had to get me to 4 before starting Pitocin.  They started that about 9:30 pm. on Monday night.  By 3 am I had an epidural and by 7am I was ready to push, one push, plus two half pushes and Ella was here! 

We were given strong words of caution from the head nurse that a lot of these early babies get re- hospitalized.  Ella was 5 weeks early.  Thankfully today she got a good report from her pediatrician; she now weighs 6lbs. and 10 oz.  He joked that he was going to check my milk for steroids!  Her jaundice is almost gone. 

The hardest part is having to wake her up every 2 hours to feed her.  But Dr. Singh said at night I can wake her up every 3 now.

Ron has been such a servant in caring for me and the children.  I am doing well physically, aside from just feeling so very tired.  The kids have all been a great help and are adjusting well, especially with Ron here.

God has been so gracious to us, to give us this gift of Ella Joy.  I praise His name.  I thank him for the babies that have already made it home and now ask Him to guide us as we train each one of his children he has asked us to care for here on earth.

One of the most difficult things for me this time around has been thinking of our adopted child and wondering what type of care and love he will get when he is born.  My room was right by the nursery and often there were many cries coming from that room.  I thought of babies in orphanages who eventually stop crying because there is no one to meet their needs.  I felt so sad as I was able to keep Ella Joy with me the whole time and meet all of her needs.  In our online classes we have had to take for the adoption we learned how every time a baby is picked up, fed, cuddled, changed, rocked, sung to…its brain grows.  Babies are not meant to be left lying in a crib with not enough food or love.  So, my prayer has been for the little one that will one day be our child that the Lord might be gracious to care for his needs until he comes home with us. 

Adoption news:

Within the past month we have been informed by America World of the USCIS implementing something  called the PAIR process.  All I know for sure is that it will mean more delays.  We are currently about 2 years away, but that time frame is likely to increase.  The hardest part is that from when we receive your referral, when you are selected for a certain child and receive his picture and health information and when you bring him home will now be 8-10 months.  We are trusting that this is all in the Lord’s hands and His timing is best.  In some ways for me it makes it easier since I have Ella Joy to care for right now.

Our abundant gratitude for your prayers, meals, thoughtsImage, concerns and love for us in this most joyous time.

Blessings,

Michelle  

9 thoughts on “Ella Joy and Adoption update

  1. Erica says:

    She’s amazing! What a lucky little girl to be born into such an awesome family, with a Mom and Dad and brothers and sisters who have hearts for God. She has so many wonderful role models to look up to! Congrats!

  2. sally says:

    We have had your family in our prayers and know that Ella Joy will bring much Joy and help fill the time while you wait to adopt. Any child in your care must be deeply loved as God brings each one to you to receive that “Special Love”.

  3. Randi R. says:

    She’s so adorable! Praise God for her jaundice going away, that was such a huge, emotional shock to me when Mitchel had jaundice…so I’m glad that it’s so quickly healing up! I’m so happy for you & what a lucky little girl to be born into such an astounding family! Love & prayers to all!!!

  4. Velva June Beal says:

    Congratulations on the birth of Ella Joy. Such a beautiful baby. Glad both mom and baby are doing well. Suppose you have heard that Alan went home to be with the Lord in June. It was such a shock and yet I am thankful he did not have to linger and suffer a long time. I doesn’t get any easier being alone but praise the Lord for His presence and strength each day. Couldn’t do it without Him. Pray for wisdom in the days ahead. Love, Velva June Beal

    • Velva June,
      No,we did not know that Pastor Beal died, I am so sorry for your loss. I pray the Lord will comfort you…of our eternal hope. Love and Blessings to you, Ron and Michelle

Leave a Reply

