Something to Ponder

Ron and I are reading a book called “The Hole in the Gospel.”  My friend Kimberly gave it to us to read.  The author is the president of World Vision, an organization similar to Compassion International.  Just wanted to share his paraphrased version of part of Matthew 25.

For I was hungry, while you had all you needed.  I was thirsty, but you drank bottled water.  I was a stranger, and you wanted me deported.  I needed clothes, but you needed MORE clothes.  I was sick, and you pointed out the behaviors that led to my sickness.  I was in prison, and you said I was getting what I deserved.”  Rick Stearns

How have I missed so much these past years?  Where is the encouragement from today’s church to care for the poor?  Do we not often look just like the world?  Then, we wonder why people don’t care to know our Jesus? 

 

Leave a Reply

