Aside

Ultrasound and Witnessing

So many blog ideas have been going through my mind, but time has just not allowed me to complete them all!

Today I will just share about my ultrasound appointment.   On the way I encountered a detour due to a bad accident.  Tons of us were redirected on a dirt road going about 10 miles per hour.  Apparently life flight was called in.  And the questions started going through my mind, are these people going to make it?  Did they know Christ?  If they die, will they go to heaven?  All these thoughts flood my mind and especially as I recently have been reading Follow Me by David Platt and also listening to some of his messages on line.  What a challenge…to remind ourselves that we are not here for ourselves; we are here to be a witness for Jesus Christ.  I remember reading something once that talked of how one of Satan’s tools is to get us focused on ourselves.  It really doesn’t matter how he does that…as long as we are not focused on Christ.  It doesn’t even have to be on things that seem evil or sinful, just distracted from Him.  To think that wherever we go, whatever we are doing there could be someone that is lost.  I have been challenged lately to witness more.  One of the ways I was both challenged and encouraged was from my very own daughter, Kaiti.  One day she came home from school and I asked her how her day was.  She said, “good, my friend and i were talking about how we weren’t afraid to die.  Other kids started asking questions and I ended up sharing the gospel with one young man imparticular, although about six kids were listening.  He said he was going to make the decision to follow Christ that night.  She took him a Bible on Monday and a book her youth pastor gave her.  I thought, wow!  1Timothy 4:12 Let no one look down on your youthfulness, but rather in speech, conduct, love, faith and purity, show yourself an example of those who believe. (NASB: Lockman)  So  I gave a young man on Luke’s team, an exchange student from Argentina, who helped them make it all the way to the regional finals this year, a Spanish Bible before he left.  I also gave him a letter explaining what it meant to follow Jesus.  Then, at my ultrasound appointment I was praying about seeing if the ultrasound tech knew Christ.  As she would step out to check on the images she had gotten so far, I would pray, Lord, how can I start this conversation?   When she came back in she said, “What book are you reading?”  I  said, “Oh, it is Follow Me, by David Platt.  It talks about following Christ, are you a Christian? “  She said yes, and she had just started going to a new church.  I told her a little about the book, how it challenges cultural Christianity and materialism.  She asked before I left to look at the book and said she was going to get it!  Awesome!  The Lord made it all fall into place.

   Now I am praying about a man and his girlfriend…and now I must tell this whole story!  Anna decided she was OK with bunk beds, thanks to her friend Kaylee getting them!  So I started looking on Craig’s list and couldn’t find much.  I found a beautiful brand new white set for under $200.  I so wanted to just buy those, but felt the Spirit, saying, any amount you can save will help.  Plus, new things are only new for a little while!  Besides the fact we really didn’t have the money to get these anyway!   But, then I found some used not too far away for only $150.  I called and the guy said they weren’t smokers and it came with two mattresses! One was practically new.  Ron and I went to get them, gave him the cash, and as Ron and the gentlemen loaded up the bunk bed and mattresses, I visited with his girlfriend.  He is going through a lot with trying to fight for his custodial rights of his daughter.   As we visited with them for a few minutes, all the sudden he just hands Ron the $150 back and said, “here I do really well, just keep this.”  We were floored!  He just GAVE us these bunk beds, and one of the mattresses was better than any twin mattress we own!  Please pray for this man and his girlfriend, pray the Holy Spirit would convict them of their need of Christ.  I am going to take them a meal and share the gospel with them.

    All this to say, we think we are going somewhere for what we need or to our appointment.  Could it be that the Holy Spirit has a divine appointment?

     Back to the ultrasound…Dr. Fleming said today everything was perfect!  It is a girl for sure.  The only for sure part of the name we have is the middle name of Joy!  As she has already brought me personally so much JOY!  Here is a profile shot of her.  I know it looks like she doesn’t have arms and legs, but she does! 🙂 Image

I also wanted to share this new picture we recently received from Compassion International of our Compassion child, Martin.  Our whole family was thrilled to see him wearing the Ohio State shirt we took him last summer!  Oh, I wish we could go see him again!  Please pray for his mom’s health.Image

    I pray as you contemplate this Easter Season, His peace and joy, and the price He paid on the cross will fill your heart.  And remember,

Romans 10:14-15

14 How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? 15 And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written: “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!”[g]

Blessings, Michelle

12 thoughts on “Ultrasound and Witnessing

  1. Beautiful little baby! Thanks for the reminder of how important it is to “plant seeds” that will flourish in Gods time. Not only were you proud of your daughter, but can you imagine how big God was smiling! Awesome…

  2. Michelle, You are truly inspirational. Your love for others is remarkable. What a big heart! No wonder you are being blessed with such a big family. I agree with you in prayer for these requests that you’ve made here. Keep updating! Your example means a lot to me.

  3. Ruby Mae says:

    YOU are an amazing woman! Thank you for the ways in which you allow God to use you to grow His kingdom. You are such an encouragement to the rest of us! PTL for the gift of bunk beds and for a precious little girl who is doing fine and will bring JOY to your heart and home.

  4. sally says:

    Michelle, What an awesome blog but a reminder to all of us of how we should be. You are in our prayers everyday and we now have someone else to pray for. Thank you for being a blessing!

Leave a Reply

