Updates and Ramblings

Loving the snow!  I know I am weird!  Abi, Kaiti and I shoveled while the boys were all at basketball practices.  Then, Anna, Ally and I attempted to make a fort in the snow!  How simple children are, to just stick icicles in the snow is fun!  Supper was late, but it was worth it.

I got sidetracked from my reading of The Problem of Pain, with reading a biography of Mother Teresa called A Simple Path, compiled by Lucinda Vardey that I picked up at the Salvation Army for 33 cents.  Wow, so amazing and convicting too!  What a challenge to just LOVE people!  I also love how she stresses that this love must begin at home.  I quote her:

  “There is something else to remember- that this kind of love begins at home.  We cannot give to the outside what we don’t have on the inside.  This is very important.  If I can’t see God’s love in my brother and sister then how can I see that love in somebody else?  How can I give it to somebody else?  Everybody has got some good.  Some hide it, some neglect it, but it is there.”

   Probably the most convicting part was the challenge…as the sisters and brothers of the Missionaries of Charity practice their life of poverty with absolute faith.  They choose not to own any more than the poor they serve.  They eat frugally and possess only two sets of clothes, a pair of sandals, a bucket, a metal plate, the basic utensils, and sparse bedding.  Well, that part hit me hard.  I recently made an extravagant purchase.  I can’t remember buying anything new in the past few years as we have been saving for mission trips and now the adoption.  We had painted our room this summer, dark gray and gray, with hopes of adding red somehow.  But, until now I was just using a white coverlet I had from before.  I guess I was in a weak moment and made the purchase, which was a good deal, but still….I told Ron, this is my birthday, anniversary, Christmas, Valentine’s day, etc.. gift.  We have got to the point where we actually just write notes and give foot rubs, or I make Ron’s favorite pie.  We don’t buy one another things for Christmas or other special days…but it is a mutual understanding…we both know it is so we can have a bigger family, adopt, go on mission trips etc..  So, thus my rationalization…and now this new red bedding must last me the rest of my life! 

   I guess this is in part to the shear overwhelming feeling of the costs of adoption.  Some have asked recently what it actually costs. America World estimates the cost of adopting one child from Ethiopia to be between $28,000 and $38,000.  We are currently funding the first portion with money we had saved and then trying to utilize a 0% interest loan in hopes to pay it off before it comes due.  We also can use a home equity line.  We are also praying of beginning some sort of fundraising, but are still in the prayer stage of that.  In these times when it seems that it is more than we can do, I remember, God is faithful, God is forgiving, God will provide.  I also think of this Tozer quote I found on another family’s adoption journey blog:

God is looking for people through whom He can do the impossible. What a pity we plan only the things we can do by ourselves.” A.W. Tozer

Quotes like these help me to remember, it is all about HIM! 

Lastly, one of the things said about Mother Teresa has really challenged me…it was this:  “Whoever she’s talking to, that person becomes the most important person in front of her.”

I think of how often when I am talking with someone and I realize that they really don’t care to hear what I am saying.  I think of God’s word in James, saying to be quick to listen and slow to speak.  Oh, Lord, I want to be that kind of listener and friend!   Especially to my children!

Well, thanks for listening to my jumbled ramblings!  Much to do!  Love to You!

                                                                     ~Michelle

 

Leave a Reply

