Doctor Appointment Today

I went to the doctor today and got to see little baby Schaffner kicking and doing tricks!  Wow!  It is so amazing how seeing the baby puts everything into perspective.  I come home to my two sweet little girls, who have been fighting sickness, so they are still in their pj’s.  My home is quite destroyed on this particular day and it is all ok!  A precious life!  Dr. Fleming couldn’t give me the teddy bear guarantee yet, so we are waiting until next time to find out boy/girl.  The teddy bear guarantee is that he is so sure he is right about it being a boy or girl that if he is wrong you will get a teddy bear .  And although Joshua has been proposing lots of boy names and even sharing their meaning for me from the name book.  I just remind him that we do know our adopted baby will be a boy.:)   Plus, I brought him a new mouthguard from Walmart.  It is amazing how $1.43 could make a boy so happy!

It has been a rough week here.  Ally had a fever for almost 7 days, combined with a nasty cough and runny nose.  She is kicking it though.  I got the weird feeling, sore throat and runny nose part.  Abi suffered through exams with it.  Josh keeps saying he is fine as not to miss any basketball, even though I notice redness under his nose.  Anna has gone through at least 3 boxes of Kleenex and a whole lot of drawing paper!  Luke is gone enough to have missed it, Kaiti seems fine.  Then, after trying to go without a nap on Sunday I ended up with a terrible migraine.  It lasted around 30 hours.  Finally I drank more coffee than they want you to when pregnant, but the doctor said that is occasionally ok.  Then, last night to sleep….oh, how wonderful!  If you have ever had a migraine, that is the tough part, you can’t sleep!  Oh, the little things we take for granted!  Sunday night I was up at 12:30, hot shower at 2:00, read Psalms 51, 52, and cried out to the Lord for relief!  I googled” migraine while pregnant” and then tried an ice water bag vs. the hot water bags I had been trying, it helped some.  Finally more coffee the next am and an am nap while the girls enjoyed PBS took it away.

All this to say, what is it about pain anyway?  I can handle the nausea, now just that seems like no big deal.  It has prompted me to reread CS Lewis’s book, The Problem with Pain.(  I didn’t know CS Lewis used to be an atheist.)   Now I know my pain is nothing compared with what so many must deal with on a daily basis.  Abi and I have even talked of how malnutrition in other countries causes children to deal with many more health issues, headaches, lower immune systems, intestinal disorders etc..  I think of people dealing with cancer and the treatments.  I think of my Uncle Bill dealing with ALS.  How do we answer the question of pain?  I know that for me personally it causes me to literally depend on the Lord.  Whether the pain is physical or emotional, It forces me to Him and to His word.  As I read this book I will try to share my insights with you.

Even as I think of a woman having pain in childbearing, but as soon as she sees her baby it goes away!    And God’s word says she is saved in childbearing.  Different people answer this verse in scripture in different ways.  For me, I feel as I am saved from myself.  By pouring into my children I am saved from “self.”  A.W. Tozer refers it to the self-life.  When not pregnant or nursing, I can take an Immitrex and move on with my migraine quite quickly.  But, when a little life is dependent on me?   When what I do affects this little one within my womb?  And yet, what we do every day affects the children and almost adults in our homes. Perhaps the pain brought into our lives brings us away more thankful for life, for normal days, and for old cheerios on the floor.  I recently really listened to Steven Curtis Chapman’s song, Do Everything. It talks of this part of our lives as parents.  I will share the lyrics below and feel free to google it to hear it.  It is a great reminder of living our lives to the Lord, an audience of One.  Sometimes no one will see the diaper we change with love, the story we read, the favorite dessert we bake, the prayer we pray for our child, but let me assure you the Lord sees and smiles down on you when you do these things for Him!

Thank you for your prayers, we love you!

Do Everything by Steven Curtis Chapman

You’re picking up toys on the living room floor for the 15th time today
Matching up socks
Sweeping up lost cheerios that got away

You put a baby on your hip
Color on your lips and head out the door

While I may not know you,
I bet I know you
Wonder sometimes, does it matter at all?

Well let me remind you, it all matters just as long
As you do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you,
Cause he made you,
To do
Every little thing that you do
To bring a smile to His face
Tell the story of grace
With every move that you make
And every little thing you do

Maybe you’re that guy with the suit and tie
Maybe your shirt says your name

You may be hooking up mergers
Cooking up burgers
But at the end of the day

Little stuff
Big stuff
In between stuff
God sees it all the same

While I may not know you
I bet I know you
Wonder sometimes, does it matter at all?
[ Lyrics from: http://www.lyricsty.com/steven-curtis-chapman-do-everything-lyrics.html ]
Well let me remind you, it all matters just as long
As you do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you,
Cause he made you
To do
Every little thing that you do
To bring a smile to His face
Tell the story of grace
With every move that you make
And everything you do

Maybe you’re sitting in math class
Or maybe on a mission in the Congo
Or maybe you’re working at the office
Singing along with the radio

Maybe you’re dining at a 5-star
Or feeding orphans in the Myanmar
Anywhere and everywhere that you are

Whatever you do
It all matters
So do what you do
Don’t ever forget

To do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you,
Cause He made you
To do
Every little thing that you do
To bring a smile to His face
And tell the story of grace

As you do everything you do to the glory of the One who made you,
Cause he made you
To do
Every little thing that you do
To bring a smile to His face
And tell the story of grace
With every move that you make
And every little thing you do

In every little thing you do
In every little thing you do

7 thoughts on “Doctor Appointment Today

  1. I really like that song.

    I had migraines when I was pregnant with Max. All I could do is lay on the couch not moving an inch and I couldn’t even open my eyes! Ugh! It is horrible! I’m glad your doctor appointment went good! How exciting to see that little babe kicking and moving! Goodness, that’s so special! God bless.

    -Tahny

Leave a Reply

