Undeserved Grace

Two weeks ago today I sent off our dossier. I came home and took a pregnancy test. It was positive. I had just had the Lord speak to my heart the month before that we were to adopt regardless. This was His calling in our lives. I have been finding my time with Him my only security….not knowing what would happen to this little one. I have been quoting Philipians 4:6-7 at least every hour for the past two weeks! Today I went and to my suprise there was a good strong heartbeat. He took my chances of miscarriage from 50% due to my age down to 25%. Personally, I feel a peace that all is well. I have felt sick, yeah! 🙂 I am mostly feeling so undeserving of yet another gift. We also now see the recent notice of an additional 6 month delay in the adoption process as a blessing, giving a little more space between the two children.

I would surely appreciate your prayers as there is still some reserve in our excitement, after going through 2 miscarriages lately. I told Ally she should pray for her little baby the other day. She said “OK, mom,” and proceeded to go into the living room and pray. I asked her later and she said, I did this, and she folded her hands and bowed her head and closed her eyes.  I thought today I would be blogging about God’s comfort in loss, about His sustaining power in the midst of our pain, and here I am in shock of His undeserved grace in my life.  Especially amidst the tragedy in Connecticut, I almost feel guilty.  And then I opened a Christmas card with a check for $500.  in it…..this will go straight to our adoption costs!  Thanks for your prayers for the provision of the adoption.

Psalm 147:3-5

New International Version (NIV)

3 He heals the brokenhearted
and binds up their wounds.
4 He determines the number of the stars
and calls them each by name.
5 Great is our Lord and mighty in power;
his understanding has no limit.

What an amazing Christmas gift, Humbled,

Love, Michelle

10 thoughts on “Undeserved Grace

  1. I’m shedding tears of joy for you!!!!! I think we can feel so humbled by Gods grace at times that it leaves us feeling guilty. Rejoice! That’s His intention, our great God wants to bless us, He loves to do so. I’m humbled in just the thought of that, that He WANTS to. …..So in awe of Him.

    Could you please pray about God giving me peace with the decision of expanding our family or not. Thank you my friend.

    Congrats to you and the whole family!

  2. Jenny Schaffner says:

    Michelle~ I am so amazed how God has been leading you guys in such an amazing path. Congrats, and I will keep praying for you and your pregnancy and the rest of the family. Love you Jenny

Leave a Reply

