Praises

Today our home study addendum arrived and I quickly jogged to the library to make copies and then headed to the post office to get it sent to USCIS.  Thank you SO much for your prayers!  One more big step…for the USCIS form to come and then that will need to have a notarized original made and then we can send our dossier to America World….then it will be sent to Ethiopia!  Then our long wait will begin.  America World is quoting a two year time frame from when the dossier is sent to Ethiopia.  In some ways that feels like forever…but we knew that going in to it.  I feel I personally need the time to prepare…I don’t know how I am going to leave these precious children two times.  That in itself will take all the strength the Lord can give me.  And it gives us time to scrape every penny we have.   

I recently finished reading a book Abi ordered called Radical.  It is not a light book.  Please know that if you read it you will be challenged a great deal.  I am thankful though for it has definitely encouraged me in many of the things the Lord has already recently spoken to my heart.

The biggest things I have been convicted of are:

1.  My lack of prayer for the nations.  Jesus asks us to pray for workers for the harvest.  We had the blessing of being given a book called Operation World which helps you pray for every nation in one year. 

2.  The way I have spent my money in the past.  Somehow the past few years the Holy Spirit has convicted me of frivolous spending.  I just wish I would have always had this mindset.  Ron and I both feel that we are challenged from going on the mission trip and now the adoption to peel down as much as possible in things that we don’t need.  There are so many third world countries in need of food and the gospel.  It is not the things themselves that are wrong, but the lack we have then to care for the poor and the needy.  David Platt says “Why not begin operating under the idea that God has given us excess, not so we could have more, but so we could give more?  I feel I have a long way to go in this…but really feel that this lines up with Jesus words. 

About two years ago I decided I was going to search the Bible for everything Jesus had to say.  I was floored how often he talked of the down and out, the poor, the widows, the orphans etc.

I also like what David Platt says, “I don’t want to miss eternal treasure because I settle for earthly trinkets.”  Jesus says, ‘Where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.’  The way we use our money is a barometer of our present spiritual condition.  Our neglect of the poor illustrates much about where our hearts lie”. I love that we get to invest eternally in one life.

Mother Teresa said, “If you can’t feed a hundred people, then feed just one.”

and

“It is a poverty to decide that a child must die so that you may live as you wish.”

 

 

9 thoughts on “Praises

  1. Michelle, I read this out loud to Kent. It really made us think and question ourselves about our spending. What a great reminder for us all, especially during this Christmas season that unfortunately is more concentrated on the “spending” instead of the reason for CHRISTmas. Thanks for sharing your heart. Love you.

    • Tahny, It has been hard for me lately…because I feel like at one point in my life I was on that simple journey..and I guess I just let others and the world influence me too much. It is hard to feel that loving discipline, but I also am so thankful that He didn’t give up on showing me His ways. I really believe that there is a Christian version of the American Dream, so far from what Christ really wants. Love to you, Michelle

  2. Wow. What a powerful message to post on “Black Friday.” We in America don’t realize all we have & all we could do for the needy. You are right; Jesus had much to say about caring for the poor. Lately, I have been meditating on Isaiah 58 where the Prophet asks, “Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen: to loose the chains of injustice and untie the cords of the yoke, to set the oppressed free and break every yoke? Is it not to share your food with the hungry and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter—when you see the naked, to clothe them, and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?” (verses 6-7). We should be seeking every day as to how we can fulfill this desire of our Holy Father’s. Schaffners, I appreciate your hearts on this journey to obey God’s calling to you in providing for a little one in need. Abundant blessings upon you!

    • Cyndi,
      Thanks so much. I am saddened for how long the Holy Spirit has been trying to teach me this! Thank you for your heart for the poor with Compassion International ! I love that scripture in Isaiah. That was our family’s theme verse for our mission trip!
      Love to you, Michelle

  3. Jenny Schaffner says:

    Michelle~
    Love what you just posted, its a great reminder and another way that Christ is opening my eyes to our spending and our mission in life. Thanks so much, you are the best sister and I love your wisdom.
    Love ya, Jenny

  4. Michelle, I have a book we read through church called “The Hole in the Gospel”. It is a wonderful story of how the current leader of World Vision came to be and the “hole” being the parts of the Gospel that we tend to ignore. And it is all about the sick, downtrodden and the poor. I will send it to you, if you are interested.

Leave a Reply

