Aside

Dirty Pants

     Our Pastor used the analogy one Sunday of putting on our “spiritual pants.” Spending time in God’s word and prayer should be like putting on our pants. We don’t show up at work or to breakfast with our family and say, “Whoops! Forgot my pants!  The same should be of seeking the Lord at the beginning of every day.

     Well, one morning in getting the kids ready for school I almost missed the fact that Anna was wearing dirty pants.  She has this pair of hand me down jean capris that she loves.  All the sudden I looked at them and they had spaghetti sauce, marker, and possibly some yogurt on them.  I said, “Anna, did you wear those yesterday?”  She just grinned.  I told her to go change into something clean and put those in the dirty clothes.  I thought about that incident in relationship to our quiet times going back to the analogy Pastor John used.  Sometimes I come to the Lord “to put my pants on” but I have pants stained with sin  and I don’t acknowledge it.  I forget to recognize my sins, I forget to ask Him to show me my sins, both the obvious ones and those hidden.  Just like I had to show Anna the stains on her capris and that they needed to be washed, the Holy Spirit must convict us of our sins.  We forget to let His precious blood cleanse us daily from unrighteousness that we might have perfect fellowship with Him.  Not that there is anything we have done, but that we allow Him to purify us.  It is amazing to think that our sins are cast as far as the East is from the West!  What a gracious loving God!  The pain His son bore on our behalf! 

    So I am trying to remember when putting on my pants, to make sure they are clean first! 

Love to you, Michelle

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins.  1 John 1:9 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Dirty Pants

  1. Ruby Mae says:

    Well, stated, Michelle, and a great reminder to remember to ask for forgiveness before we lay out our list of other wants and needs!

  2. Another great analogy! Here’s more: It’s interesting how Anna (I love her!) was perfectly fine wearing the dirty pants, just like we are often so accustomed to our sin that we would rather just keep “wearing” it rather than shed it off. But our Heavenly Father (just like you, as a mom) wants us to be clean & pure, which requires us to get out of our comfort zones and allow Him to make us clean again. “Oh, the blood of Jesus, it washes white as snow!”

Leave a Reply

