The Journey to Ethiopia….the story behind it

Many of you know we are in the process of adopting from Ethiopia…some of you have asked about our story…so here it is…

This past spring I had been struggling with why the Lord had given us a desire for another child…and in the 2-5 Sunday school class where I help i felt Satan taunting me with this. I rebuked Satan in Jesus’ name and felt overcome with peace. The Holy Spirit then brought to my mind the verse “no eye can see, no ear can hear, no mind can conceive what God had prepared for those who love Him.” I then looked over at precious little Eli Hiatt, Eli is from Ethiopia and said, “Lord is this what you want? Do you want us to adopt from Ethiopia? I felt Him saying, YES! YES! I was so excited. I told Ron who thought I had lost it…did research for 4 days and even filled out a preliminary free application. Then I found out I was pregnant! Oh, I thought….I guess I heard you wrong Lord. And this was our journey of the Lord’s blessing of Paul Samuel Schaffner who had a little heartbeat but went to be with our Precious Lord.

I now did not know what God was doing. Less than a week after my D and c, we left for the Dominican Republi for our mission trip. Wow, the poverty, the children, the people…we fell in love with them! We came home, went up north for quiet and rest and prayed together and listened to the Lord in the stillness. Yes, we were to adopt. Where would we get the money? How would we do this? It didn’t matter. God said to do it. What a gracious Loving God to speak this to my soul before I even knew I was pregnant. The whole time I knew if lost this baby…it was because God’s ways are not our ways, His ways are higher than our ways. Michele Hiatt gave me a book to read that explained why there were so many orphans in Ethiopia. Mothers pray for homes for their babies, some hand their babies to the orphanges and then collapse and die.

This is not us, this is God! We cannot do this, but Christ living in us….we can! We can be more than conquerers! We see it as our way to care for the orphans.

We recently received our homestudy and are waiting to get fingerprinted, get government approval and our paperwork will go to Ethiopia. It will take up to 2 years.

We ask that you join us in prayer.

Please pray:

* For the child/children we are to adopt

* For our USCIS paperwork to go quickly

* Prepare our hearts and family for this calling

* Provide financially

Thanks for listening to our story…..God’s gracious love that has adopted us into HIs family!

Love In Christ,

The Schaffner Family

 

New International Version (©1984) I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. John 14:18

5 thoughts on “The Journey to Ethiopia….the story behind it

  1. Michelle you have always inspired me at certain points in my life, as a young child when we were neighbors and now as an adult. I’m so glad for the reconnection, what a blessing. Anxiously waiting your next posting…

  2. Ruby Mae says:

    Excited for how God is leading you to love His little ones! Eager to hear each step of the way and to be praying for you. Ruby Mae

Leave a Reply

